The Best of Beauty 2017

I tried and tested a boat load of make-up in 2017 so I wanted to over haul my favourites from last year and find out what you guys were loving..

Skincare is something I worry about changing up because I know what works for me and having sensitive skin it is a bit of a gamble to see what will work and what products will break me out.. I have sworn by my body shop Vitamin C collection which contains cleanser, toner, skin peel and daily moisturiser. The reason I love this line so much is honestly because of the orange scent and the way it leaves my skin feeling. The products leave my skin feeling so hydrated, fresh and glowing.

I am a foundation hoarder so 2017 was no different but I managed to narrow it down to 3 faves from last year. The Clinique 2in1 beyond perfecting foundation, this made it in to the faves because of its full coverage formula and the smallest amount goes so far. It is matte without being too drying and it has the best doe foot applicator which makes application so quick and easy. My fave dewy foundation is hands down BECCA aqua luminous, I have repurchased this time and time again. It has a medium coverage but remains very dewy and keeps your skin looking like skin. Last year was the first time I ever tried a stick foundation and I convinced myself I would hate it due to my dry skin but I have fallen in love with Tarte’s clay stick foundation. This is a high coverage yet hydrating foundation and it stays in placed all day. Powder wise I have stuck by my ever faithful Laura Mercier loose translucent powder. However in the later months of the year I began reaching for the Fenty Beauty universal powder. This is a translucent compact powder which mattifies the skin and erases pores without leaving a white cast.

There is only one stand out concealer from 2017 and that’s of course Tarte shape tape, every beauty guru, make up artist and make up newbies concealer of the year. This product speaks for itself and is a frequent flyer here on lifewithjem. Choosing one eyeshadow palette from the passed year was definitely the hardest to narrow down but the star of the show for me was 100% the Morphe x Jaclyn Hill palette. This is so much bang for your buck at such a reasonable price for so many high pigment, high quality shadows.

Last but not least lips.. I came into 2017 a liquid lip matte all the way lover and I’ve left the year behind gloss obsessed!! My faves from last year have to be Fenty’s gloss bomb, a universal colour with a thick and creamy formula. Call me boring but I would go as far to say as his is my overall favourite product from the last year! I’ve also been loving the jouer lip topper in the rose gold edition. This is a lightweight gloss wig flecks of glitter + it smells like chocolate (heaven)!!!

If you’ve made it to the end of this long ass post then thanks so much for reading and I would love to know what your favourite products from last year were. Can’t wait to get trying all the new launches that are coming in 2018!!!!

Jem xo

Leave a comment